Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award was established by MMANC in 2007 as part of the Inaugural Women’s Leadership Summit.  The Rising Star Award is presented to a female MMANC member that demonstrates the leadership skills crucial to sound local government, the ethics that are core to MMANC, seeks out opportunities for professional development and has demonstrated the following during her career:

  • Primary career focus has been in local government
  • Has been employed in the profession for 10 years or less either as an administrative analyst, assistant, specialist, management analyst or senior management analyst
  • Exhibits exemplary performance and commitment to the employee’s organization or department
  • Contributes to the organization as a leader, motivator and innovator
  • Has taken a proactive approach to her own personal and professional development

The recipient must be a current Full Member of MMANC and are recognized each year at the Annual Women’s Leadership Summit.

2019 Carolyn Jhajj Senior Management Analyst, County of Yolo
2018 Dawn La Bar Special Projects Manager, City of Fairfield
2017 Miranda Lutzow Administrative Services Director, City of Waterford
2016  Ariana Ayala  Management Analyst, City of Stockton
2015 Becky Eby Management Analyst, County of Yolo
2014 Rebecca Woodbury Management Analyst, City of San Rafael
2013 DeAnna Hilbrants Administrative Manager – Emergency Communications, County of Monterey
2013 Nina Hawk Assistant Director of Water and Sewer Utilities, City of Santa Clara
2012 Hazel L. Wetherford Economic Development Analyst, City of Dublin
2012 Kelly McAdoo-Morariu Assistant City Manager, City of Hayward
2011 Molly Rattigan Management Analyst, County of Napa
2010 Crystal Morrow City of Saratoga
2009 Maya Williams Special Projects Manager, City of Fremont
2008 Magda Gonzalez City of Redwood City
2007 Jenny Haruyama Assistant Finance and Budget Director, Town of Los Gatos