

Municipal Management Association of Northern California

**2012** Board of Directors

President Molly Rattigan County of Napa

Vice-President Christina Gilmore City of San Mateo

Treasurer Hazel Wetherford City of Dublin

Secretary Rhonda Franklin City of Dublin

Program Director Ryan DeVore City of Sacramento

Membership Services Director Erin Steffen City of Dublin

Immediate Past President Jenny Haruyama Town of Los Gatos

## **REGION CHAIRS**

Peninsula/South Bay/ Monterey Bay Crystal Morrow DeAnna Hilbrants Gitta Ungvari Michael Bolander

North Bay/Coast Liz Habkirk Tom Adams

Sacramento/Lake Tahoe/ North State Dane Wadle

East Bay Cecelia Nichols-Fritzler

**Delta/San Joaquin/Central Sierra** Vacant

> 3053 Freeport Blvd., #292 Sacramento, CA 95818 (855) 737-2687 www.mmanc.org • info@mmanc.org

## **NOTICE OF AMENDMENTS TO BYLAWS**

In accordance with the Bylaws, proposed amendments to the Bylaws shall be noticed to the membership 30 days in advance of voting. The noticing period for this proposed amendment is July 9 – August 8, 2012. On August 9, 2012, the Secretary shall forward the official ballot to the MMANC membership by way of email. Voting shall occur during the two-week period of August 9 – August 22, 2012.

## PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO MMANC BYLAWS

It is proposed that the Bylaws be amended to:

- Include non-profit organizations in the Associate Member definition.
- Establish an Executive Membership category for chief executive/administrative officers.
- Refine the definition of the Honorary Membership category to refer to MMANC members who have improved or strengthened the local government profession and/or MMANC.

Amend Section IV. Membership to read as follows. Deleted text is shown as strike-through and added text is shown as underlined.

## IV. MEMBERSHIP

Membership in this organization shall be open to any person regardless of race, religion, age, national origin, sex, disability, or sexual orientation.

A. Upon payment of dues, members shall be given one of the following classifications:

1. Full Member - Any person employed at least half-time in administrative and/or management work for a local government agency in Northern California, except for the chief executive/administrative officer of an agency. This includes individuals in city government, county government, regional government, special districts and other local government agencies. Full members shall be entitled to all rights and privileges of the organization, including the right to hold office and vote, and shall share in its responsibilities.

2. Associate Member - Any person interested in promoting the purposes of the organization that does not qualify for Full member status. This includes individuals in state and federal government, colleges and universities, legislative assistant positions, management consulting firms, and other public, <u>non-profit</u>, and private sector organizations. Associate members shall be entitled to all rights and privileges of the organization, except the right to hold office and vote.

3. Student Member - Any person who is not working full time in public administration, but is attending a recognized college or university with interest in entering the local government profession. Student members shall be entitled to all rights and privileges of the organization, except the right to hold office and vote.

B. Honorary Executive Membership

1. Purpose - The category of <u>Honorary Executive</u> Membership is hereby established in recognition of the role that this organization plays in the development of chief executive/administrative officers and the role that these individuals play in MMANC.

2. Eligibility - An honorary executive membership shall-may be awarded by the MMANC Board of Directors annually to all-individuals who are appointed to the position of chief executive/administrative officer of an agency-located within a region of MMANC who make a request to the MMANC Board or who are nominated by another MMANC member for Executive Membership. while they are a Full member in good standing of MMANC. An honorary membership may also be granted by the MMANC Board of Directors to honor individuals who have contributed significantly to the profession and/or the organization.

3. Benefits - <u>Honorary Executive</u> members shall be awarded a lifetime membership in MMANC. They shall receive all pertinent MMANC information to keep them informed as to the organization's activities. <u>Executive members shall</u> <u>be entitled to all rights and privileges of the organization, except the right to hold office and vote.</u>

C. Honorary Membership

<u>1. Purpose – The category of Honorary Membership is hereby established in recognition of MMANC members who have improved or strengthened the local government profession and/or the organization through extraordinary accomplishments.</u>

2. Eligibility – An honorary membership maymay also be granted by the MMANC Board of Directors to honor individualsMMANC members who have contributed significantly to the profession and/or the organization while they are a Full member in good standing of MMANC. A MMANC member may be nominated for honorary membership by any current member of MMANC to the MMANC Board of Directors.

3. Benefits – Honorary members shall be awarded a lifetime membership in MMANC. They shall receive all pertinent MMANC information to keep them informed as to the organization's activities. Honorary members shall be entitled to all rights and privileges of the organization, except the right to hold office and vote.

MMANC is a membership organization affiliated with the International City/County Management Association and the League of California Cities. Formed in 1950, it serves local government professionals employed in cities, counties and special districts within the following counties: Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Benito, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba